You have 1 action to finish to complete your account. Customize your experience by selecting your interests on the Personalization page

Valerie J. Lund


Professor Emeritus of Rhinology | Ear Institute, University College London, United Kingdom

Valerie J. Lund


Valerie Lund, CBE, MS, FRCS, is Professor Emeritus of Rhinology at the Ear Institute, University College London, and is an Honorary Consultant ENT Surgeon at the Royal National Ear, Nose, Throat and Eastman Dental Hospital (University College London Trust), University College Hospital. She deals with all nose and sinus conditions and has been involved in endoscopic sinus surgery and its extended applications since the early 1980s.

Prof. Lund has contributed extensively to the literature in rhinology, having publised 40 books and monographs, 96 chapters, and more than 390 peer-reviewed papers.  She has lectured widely, delivering 20 eponymous lectures including the Semon, Stirk Adams, Stell, Wilde, and Yearsley lectures. She has received several prizes including the George Davey Howell (1990, 2008, 2015), W J Harrison (Royal Society of Medicine 2012), BMA Book awards and Jobson Horne Prize (2018). She is the only non-American editor of Cummings Otorhinolaryngology. She is a Co-Chair of EPOS and has been Editor of Rhinology, General Secretary of the European Rhinologic Society (ERS), and President of ENT-UK. She was elected to the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and made a Commander of the British Empire by the Queen for services to medicine in 2008.

Prof. Lund received an honorary Doctorate of Medicine from the Universities of Brighton and Sussex for services to medicine and women in surgery in 2016. She has received many international awards, prizes and Honorary Memberships including ERS, IRS, and the American College of Surgeons. In 2019, Prof. Lund was made an Honorary Member of the ENT-UK, received the first Lifetime Achievement award from the British Rhinological Society, and was also given a Lifetime Achievement award on behalf of the American Rhinologic Society, International Rhinologic Society and International Society of Inflammation and Allergy of the Nose.